J: Jesus Loves Me – The Simple Truth that Changes Everything

Jesus Loves Me.jpg

J  Jammin’ to children’s tunes isn’t typically one of my favorite past-times, but there are some children’s songs that contain such deep meaning and such rich truth, that we ought to grasp onto them for dear life while we’re young and hold onto them for the rest of our days.

One of these songs is the well-known favorite, Jesus Loves Me. Research studies have shown that this is one of the first songs the average child learns by heart, and is one of the last things senior adults typically remember, even after their other memories have faded. And the song certainly deserves to be remembered.

Just a few weeks ago, I sang a Gospel version of this tune as a solo at church and had the elementary children’s choir join in with me. It was meaningful for me, for the kids, and for those in attendance. Why? What makes this song so special? For a moment, forget that it’s a children’s song and think about what it means:

No matter who I am or where I come from – Jesus loves me.

No matter what I’ve done or need to ask forgiveness for – Jesus loves me.

No matter what I have – or haven’t accomplished in life – Jesus loves me.

No matter what circumstances I face – Jesus loves me.

I don’t have to cure cancer or save the world to feel significant, or to feel like my life matters. I am significant, and my life does matter– because, you see…Jesus, the King of Kings, loves me.

What greater song could we sing?

 

For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have everlasting life.” – John 3:16

7 thoughts on “J: Jesus Loves Me – The Simple Truth that Changes Everything

    1. You should look up the song sometime! It’s a children’s song, but it’s a great reminder that the Bible tells us about how God loved us enough to make a way for us to spend eternity in Heaven, in spite of all the wrong things we’ve done. It’s the greatest story ever told, in a song simple enough for a child to grasp…(sorry for the long reply, I love talking to people about this stuff)!

      Like

  1. Amen. Simple truths in children’s songs can be profound if we don’t become dull to them. Song is a tremendous way to inculcate truth because it uses both sides of the brain and will stick with you. I still remember Ephesians 4:32 because I learned it as a little ditty and my children all recall that one to mind easily as well since they learned it in song. You have an important ministry. May God bless and prosper you in it. Maria at “http://delightdirectedliving.blogspot.com/”

    Like

Leave a Reply

