Friday Fictioneers – “Two-Point Perspective”

Route 66

 

 

The underbelly of the slave ship was dark and foul. The hushed silence was broken only by the clanking of chains as someone shifted uncomfortably.

“We’ll die here,” I sobbed.

My father wagged a bony finger. “Nah,” he murmured. “This ain’t the end of the road. Just a ticket to the New World.”

“Sickness will get us…”

“Nah…we’re tougher than you think.”

“But we’re nothing but slaves here!” I spat. “That will never change.”

His eyes grew misty. “One day things will have to change. They always do.”

“We’ll be dead and gone by then.”

He nodded. “Still worth it.”

 

 

 

This week’s challenge: 100 words. The classic photo prompt above. One shattering piece of historical fiction.

24 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – “Two-Point Perspective”

  1. Dear John Mark,

    I like the way you show two different points of view. However, I question the part about the New World. Would these slaves have been aware of where they were going? I’m afraid the father’s in for more than a rude awakening.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    1. Rochelle – duly noted! I could have easily placed this conversation in a different historical setting, and agree that I should have kept searching for a better historical backdrop for this story to land in.

      Thanks so much for the helpful critique!

      Like

  2. John, it seems likely to me that there would have been slaves who knew where they were going, at some point in time and in some cases, although most probably didn’t know or care. The dialogue sounded more like Europeans than African slaves, particularly the use of “Nah” and “ain’t”, but I liked the story itself and the greater truth, recognized or not.

    janet

    Like

  3. I enjoyed this story. It is a great thing to have a father pass on hope to his child. I liked the part where it was hinted at the fact that change is good even if we aren’t always around to see it. Sometimes generations after our death the impact we made will be what changes our family’s life. Look at Rahab in the Bible…

    Like

    1. That’s a great point… I think our self-centered culture has started to lose the idea that that it’s not just about us and our happiness, but about making a good life for our descendants. Rahab is a wonderful example, and as someone in Christ’s family tree, her decision impacted us all! Talk about a powerful thought!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The story of Rahab really brought it home for me that my good and bad choices impact the generations that follow. My hope is that the Lord will help me to make good choices so that those generations can live in His blessings 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

