Friday Fictioneers – Dark Regret

Spider Bite

 

 

My face was drenched in sweat as I raced down the long, black corridor. Shivering with fear, I pounded on the iron doors with clammy fists. “Somebody help me!” I shrieked.

He was coming for me.

Mr. Black had seduced me with his devilish smile, inviting me to his estate for a “good time.” Once inside, the party had been lively… the doors barred. A piercing scream had awakened me, and I had stumbled into the basement…where I found the bodies.

Others who had embraced sin and darkness, now paralyzed in silent cocoons.

“Forgive us!”

But it was too late.

 

 

 

 

“But your iniquities have separated you from God…they hatch the eggs of vipers and spin a spider’s web…

‘The Redeemer will come to Zion, to those who repent of their sins,’ declares the LORD.”

Isaiah 59:2, 5, 20

 

 

 

This week’s Friday Fictioneers challenge was to use the standard 100 words and the terrifying photo above to produce a work of “hysterical fiction.”

I decided to write a spiritual allegory. Sin always looks attractive at first glance, but ends up taking us deeper than we ever imagined, keeping us longer than we wanted to stay, and leaving us paralyzed from its destructive consequences.

I’m so thankful for God’s gift to each of us on Christmas Day, and for the fact that we can be released from sin’s dark grasp by finding forgiveness in Jesus Christ.

Be blessed today!

 

 

Photo Prompt: Copyright by Douglas M. MacIlroy

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Dark Regret

Leave a Reply

