5 Apps for Promoting Spiritual Health

Yellow Watch

 

 

Apparently the desire to track and record personal health data is sweeping the world by storm. In the November 2014 issue of Time Magazine, contributor Bryan Walsh examined this “Quantified Self Movement.”

“More and more of us are engaging in some form of digital self-examination,” Walsh reports. “Research firm ABI estimates that 42 million wearable fitness and health devices will be shipped in 2014.”[1]

And what, you may ask, do these little fitness watches tell us about ourselves?

“On my wrist I wear a Jawbone UP24,” Walsh explains, “a rubber bracelet that tracks my steps and calories burned over the course of the day. To make sure I don’t exceed the calories burned with calories consumed, I track my diet with the iPhone app MyFitnessPal, which syncs up with my Jawbone data. The Jawbone bracelet uses a motion sensor to track my sleep time, and the Jawbone app uses algorithms to calculate the hours I spend in light sleep and deep sleep over the course of the night.”

In other words, we’ve become obsessed with personal health and know more about our physical condition than ever before.

But as I read this, I couldn’t help but wonder… what steps are we taking to monitor our spiritual health?

 

 

 

Tracking Your Spiritual Health… a Biblical Notion

 

Taking stock of one’s spiritual health is certainly not a new concept. Paul wrote in Ephesians 5:15, “Therefore watch carefully how you walk, not as unwise, but as wise.”

The Psalmist prayed that God would help reveal his spiritual condition in Psalm 139:23-24, “Search me, O God, and know my heart; try me and know my anxious thoughts; and see if there be any hurtful way in me, and lead me in the everlasting way.”

In Joshua 1:8, God’s people are advised to continually study the Word of God, holding it up as the standard by which to measure their lives: “Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it.”

Finally, James taught the Early Church that it is not enough to simply read God’s Word, but that we also need to be sure that we are daily practicing God’s Word. James 1:22-25 says, “But prove yourselves doers of the word, and not merely hearers who delude themselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks at his natural face in a mirror; for once he has looked at himself and gone away, he has immediately forgotten what kind of person he was. But one who looks intently at the perfect law, the law of liberty, and abides by it, not having become a forgetful hearer but an effectual doer, this man will be blessed in all he does.”

Of course, measuring ourselves against the standard of God’s Word and praying for the Spirit to convict us of areas we need to work on will always be the most effective ways to track our spiritual health. But if we can use our mobile devices to monitor how many calories we burned each hour and which foods helped us sleep more soundly, why not use them to help track our spiritual health as well.

 

 

5 Apps for Tracking and Promoting Spiritual Health

 

Below are five apps which I’ve found to be helpful for monitoring my spiritual health and promoting growth in this area:

 

Bible Memory Verses Bible Memory Verses

This app makes hiding God’s Word in your heart both fun and easy to manage. Quickly scroll through your “Target Verses” for each day, and review these with flash cards or a variety of memory games. The app will tell you which verses need the most work, and which ones you’ve mastered.

 

 

 

YouVersion YouVersion

This Bible app contains a variety of built-in Bible reading plans, so you can select one that piques your interest. Once you get started, the app will monitor your progress and tell you how many days behind you are. It can also e-mail your daily Scripture reading to your inbox, and will send you warnings if you fall behind and notes of encouragement if you’re doing well.

 

 

 

Vyrso Vyrso Christian Ebooks

This Christian Ebooks app makes it easier than ever to purchase, store, and read Christian books. The app offers daily deals and discounts on Christian titles, and once you sign up for an account you’ll also receive “freebies” in your e-mail inbox. And really… who doesn’t love free books?

 

 

 

Logos Logos Bible App

To be honest, this app is only worth downloading if you plan on purchasing the Logos Bible Software for your computer. This software isn’t cheap, but once you have it you gain access to daily news updates and devotionals, discounts and freebies, and millions of Christian scholarly resources. Since I was required to purchase Logos for seminary studies, I’ve found this app to be nothing short of amazing. No matter where I am, I can use this app to pull up information from hundreds of commentaries, Hebrew and Greek resources, and Christian Living titles.

 

 

 

HisRadio HisRadio

If you love Christian radio, then you’ll like this free app. HisRadio plays the latest hits in Contemporary Christian music, Worship, and Christian Pop. If you enjoy bands such as Selah and David Crowder and want to keep up with their latest offerings, then this app is for you.

 

 

 

 

 

What About You? What Apps or Tools Have You Found to Encourage Spiritual Growth?

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

[1] Walsh, Bryan. “Data Mine: The Next Revolution in Personal Health May Be the Little Step-Tracking Band On Your Wrist.” Time Magazine, (November 24, 2014), p. 34-38.

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “5 Apps for Promoting Spiritual Health

  1. I’ve heard of the Logos software program and have been so antsy to get my hands on it, but gosh it’s expensive! I didn’t know about their Bible app! I bet it’s limited though :/

    Also, I love studying early church history as well as the early church theologians’ work (Polycarp, Justin Martyr, Tertullian) and have found Logos to be the most effective tool in helping uncover the truths about the Gospel. We are so far removed from the message that Jesus preached when He was on Earth, it’s disheartening.

    All that to say, I’m thankful for Logos! ^_^

    Like

    1. The Logos app connects directly to your software account, so whatever you have access to with the software is also available through your app. I’ve been able to access most everything through the app, although some of the foreign language books take too long to load on the iPhone and are easier to view on a standard computer.

      One thing that leaves me in total awe is the fact that while Jesus walked the earth many years ago, we still have His exact words recorded in Scripture and they are as fresh and relevant for us now as they ever were. While I love reading the observations of various theologians throughout history, it’s wonderful to know that we can go straight to the Bible and gain all sorts of theological knowledge straight from the Source (and no app purchase is necessary for this!).

      Thanks for your comment, and best of luck to you in your studies!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree that the Bible is a primal source to gain wisdom and revelation from, but wouldn’t you agree that our worldview ca affect how we view the Gospel? A worldview that is founded on allegorical teaching?

        That was the only reason, why I mentioned that we are so far removed from the actual message that Jesus preached 🙂 I have to wonder, because living in a Westernized culture, you don’t hear messages that teach on the elementary teachings {Hebrews 6:1-2}; especially the resurrection of the dead. 😉

        Like

        1. You’re right, Claudia. We tend to approach Scripture through the lens of our own worldview, which is shaped and influenced by our culture and upbringing.

          I think that’s why it’s so important for preachers to teach directly from the Bible, and to preach exegetically (to go through entire books of the Bible instead of picking verses at random)… this helps ensure that the congregation is being fed the entire Word of God, including those difficult passages that many preachers tend to avoid.

          Hopefully, by studying Scripture well in our churches we can help people to have a biblical worldview, where the worldview is shaped by Scripture instead of the other way around!

          Enjoyed this conversation… thanks again for jumping into this one!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I think wearing the thing that tracks bodily events is crazy. I like your prescription. Better yet for me is to breathe in the breath God used to create us in the first place and live. The Spirit will surprise me with all necessary for growth.

    Like

    1. The new wristbands do seem a little obsessive… There are some things I just don’t want to know! That kind of information overload just sounds exhausting to me, but then again, I’m not a serious athlete either…

      Like

      1. Yes. The thought of information overload is what provoked my response. I do carry a cell phone (not a “smart” one) in case of emergencies but don’t keep it on. I like to be present to wherever I am at the moment.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome! I’m definitely going to check out the Christian ebooks app. Thanks for these recommendations. I personally LOVE the MySword App. It gives you many Bible dictionaries (including Strongs), plus multiple commentaries. I use it almost daily during my bible study time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

