Flash Friday Fiction – “Hollow”

Today’s Flash! Friday Challenge was to use 140-160 words and the picturesque scene below to craft our weekly tale.  Due to an overwhelming amount of homework I’ve been out of the flash fiction game for the past couple of weeks, but I’m glad to be back in the saddle again!

 

st-kilda

St Kilda, Scotland. CC photo by Neil Wilkie.

 

Hollow

 

“Will you be my bonnie lass?”

The words stung my memory as I tipped the boat’s captain and stepped onto the island. My island.

Grey fog drifted across the desolate hills. It was all so beautiful, so familiar… and so lonely.

My feet carried me to the small, stone hideaway that frequented my dreams. If I closed my eyes I could still hear the cheerful folk dances of my youth, could feel the wild abandon of a first kiss, and the caress of my Kedrick as his intense, green eyes eclipsed the glowing moon.

“Will you be my bonnie lass?” His passionate whisper tickled my ear.

The eerie stillness reminded me that this was but a hollow shell of the place I knew, and I felt the emptiness within the very depths of my soul. But my answer would never change.

“Aye,” I told the quiet walls.

I felt Kedrick’s laughing eyes, and together, we danced the night away.

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Flash Friday Fiction – “Hollow”

Leave a Reply

