Meaningful Mistakes

Oops! Road Sign

 

This weekend was, as usual, a wonderful one – and full of mistakes! While I wish I was the kind of person who always did things the right way the first time, nothing could be further from the truth. Every time I turn around I’m messing something up, or having something blow up in my face. But you know, I’m learning that this is a real blessing!

Take this weekend, for example:

 

A Musical Mishap

My wife and I just returned from vacation and saw that my wife was scheduled to sing a Sunday Morning solo. She asked me to play the piano for her, and we practiced a song entitled What Love Is This by Kari Jobe. I knew it was a beautiful song, but I didn’t really let the words sink in. Well, until we messed up, that is!

During the Sunday Morning service Janelle lost her place in the music, and jumped back to repeat the bridge of the song a second time. It could have been a complete disaster. As Janelle put it, “I saw the train wreck approaching and just decided to jump on board!” But it wasn’t a train wreck. In His grace, God brought the words to the bridge to the front of her mind, and allowed me to realize what happened. In a split second that most people didn’t even notice, she glanced over to see me flip a few pages back to where she was in the music, we shared a knowing grin, and though the song ended up a little more lengthy than it was intended to be, we didn’t miss a beat.

Sometimes it is in those moments, when our own ability fails us and the only way we make it through is to have God carry us, that are the most worshipful of all. As Janelle sang the bridge once again in her impromptu repeat, I started listening to what the words were actually saying for the first time, she raised her hands in worship, and a few men from the congregation shouted, “Amen!”

And I realized that instead of beating myself up each time I make a small mistake, I should thank God for them. Sometimes I believe the Lord allows us to trip up every once in a while so we’ll be humbled, so we’ll realize how much we need Him, so we’ll let Him carry us for a while, and so our hearts can worship. Don’t you see? The very mistakes that we avoid like the plague can actually be gateways to deeper worship in our lives.

 

Have you made any meaningful mistakes lately?

 

 

And He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. Therefore I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong.

2 Corinthians 12:9-10

 

_______________________________

 

What Love Is This? – Kari Jobe

 

 

17 thoughts on “Meaningful Mistakes

  1. I was trying to communicate this very thing to my two oldest children yesterday. It’s hard not to want to beat ourselves up for simple mistakes that others probably don’t really notice, instead of letting God take over the situation and give us the opportunity to be wow’ed by His provision. What a neat story of God getting a little extra glory and praise through a “mistake” … I love it!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow. That’s a tough one for those of us who work in our daily lives to not make mistakes because in medicine that often could mean someone’s life. There are many times however, when we just have to trust out instincts and let God take over and often our “mistakes” or “not knowing” is what saves. Beautiful message of grace. I don’t know Kari Jobe, so thanks for sharing. I was moved to tears…definitely my next solo at church.

    Like

  3. I am forever making mistakes that I try to find meaning in….I figure God made me this way (mistake-prone) for a reason. Ever-learning and ever-thankful, I remain. Awesome post, as always!! 🙂

    Like

  4. I make mistakes often. My goal is to learn from them and share them with others as life lessons, if only to give people something to laugh/smile about our humanity…I wish I could sing, I would definitely be singing this song…thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. A friend of mine once said, “God doesn’t waste anything. He uses it ALL!” So encouraging. Love Kari Jobe. I had not heard this song before now. Of course, it is beautiful.

    Like

  6. Lovely story! The perfection of imperfection. I think it is not only personal “mis-takes” that have happy surprises. Tuesday morning I was dropped at the airport to fly home after a visit with my sister. I had to change planes at Chicago O’Hare airport. I soon learned that O’Hare had been shut down the day before by thunder storms and had filled Tuesday’s flights with the people stranded by Monday’s cancelations. This made it impossible for me to make my connection. Fortunately I found a flight through Newark NJ to get me to my final destination. As we were landing in New Jersey I looked out the window and saw we were flying parallel to New York City. I saw a greenish speck in the harbor and realized to my surprise and delight that I was looking at the Statue of Liberty.

    Like

Leave a Reply

