Thinking Pink: Why My Daughter Thinks I’m “One of the Girls”

Three Ice Cream Cones

When I was a kid I made a striking discovery: when it comes to desserts, pink always tastes better. Because of this, I became partial to strawberry ice cream, watermelon Jolly Ranchers, pink Starbursts, pink jellybeans, and my recent favorite: a heavenly snow cone called “The Barbie.”

The Barbie” is a combination of pink cotton candy, pink bubble gum, and vanilla syrups covered in white cream. When it comes to summer treats, this one is to die for! Yes, bystanders snicker as I order “The Barbie” and they realize it’s for me, but one taste and I know it was worth it. I was always able to make it through my order without having my masculinity threatened.

Then the other day, I asked my daughter how her day had been at daycare.   She told me that they had gone to the snow cone stand, and that someone had ordered “The Barbie.”

“Hey, my dad orders that one!” she pointed out.

“Is your dad a girl?” the other kids sneered.

She thought about it for a second, and said, “Well, I guess in a way he kind of is!”

My wife nearly fell out of her chair as the story was told, doubled over in silent laughter. I couldn’t believe it… my daughter thought I was one of the girls?

 

Masculinity…Officially…Threatened!

 

Trying to hide my smile, I asked, “Honey, why do you think I’m kind of like a girl?”

“Well,” she said, as if this was obvious. “You like pink stuff like a girl, and you like to play with me sometimes, but the boys at daycare only like to play with boys. So you must be a girl!” In her seven-year-old mind, this was unbreakable logic!

My wife and I had a good laugh over this, but her answer really made me think. She assumed that because I sometimes acted like her, that I must be just like her.

Isn’t the same thing true of most people in the world?

As Christians, we’re called to be “salt and light,” and to make an impact for Christ in our own corner of the world. The very things that make us different from most people set us apart and help us to shine brightly for Christ. This is why we find the Scriptural command to be in the world, but not of it:

 

“I do not pray that You should take them out of the world, but that You should keep them from the evil one. They are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.”

Jesus – John 17:15-16

 

How well are we accomplishing this? In our own minds we may be vastly different from the world because we know that in our personal lives and in the privacy of our own homes we make decisions that honor Christ. But how might a worldly person view your life? If you’re wearing all the same clothes, speaking all the same words, and watching and reading all the same things, why shouldn’t they assume that you are just like them? The “Pink Snow Cone” effect strikes again!

Think over your life. Are you honoring the Lord in your daily decisions, and are you being open about it? Instead of simply refusing to watch certain films or read certain books, do you make a point of telling people why?

Don’t be afraid to stand out and be different. Because that, my friends, is precisely what we’ve been called to do!

 

“So that you may become blameless and pure, ‘children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation.’ Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky.”

Philippians 2:15

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go find myself a pink Starburst!

14 thoughts on “Thinking Pink: Why My Daughter Thinks I’m “One of the Girls”

Leave a Reply

