What I Love About Jogging

Boy and Girl Running in Tall Grass

I had the day off of work yesterday, and one of the things that I was looking forward to the most was getting to take my morning jog.

This used to be a daily tradition for me, but I currently have an hour-long commute, meaning that I am away from 6:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. This doesn’t leave much time for jogging! My wife was surprised when I told her how excited I was about taking this jog, and as I ran through our neighborhood I asked myself, “What is it about jogging that you love so much?”

I came up with three things:

1.)     Feeling Fit – We all know that exercise is good for us, but it’s more than that. I love the rush of endorphins as I get my heart rate up, the sound of my shoes pounding the pavement as I settle into a rhythm, the “good” burn that hits my muscles once I reach the cool-down phase, and the way running helps the stress melt right off my back and clears my head. After a run, I feel like a healthier, more energetic person, and it’s as if my mind has been recharged. To put it simply, running makes me feel more alive.

2.)    Getting Out – There’s nothing like heading outside in the early morning. The grass is still wet with dew, the trees are especially fragrant, the breeze is cool and quiet, and since most people haven’t smacked that alarm clock yet, it’s almost as if you have the whole world to yourself.

3.)    Hearing from God – Most of all, an early morning jog is one of the best ways to pray. I’m alone, surrounded by the astounding beauty of the created world, my mind is active, and it’s almost as if I can hear God whispering to me through the rustling leaves. Some of my best conversations with God have taken place while I was jogging around my sleepy little neighborhood!

 

O God, You are my God;

Early will I seek You;

My soul thirsts for You;

My flesh longs for You

In a dry and thirsty land

Where there is no water.

Psalm 63:1

 

How About You?

What have you found that helps to refresh your spirit and reconnect your heart with God?

10 thoughts on “What I Love About Jogging

  1. This is so very true. I love my morning walks after my devotional time. It is a time to reflect on those quiet moments with Him and soak in the beauty around me. It amazes me how a spirit of thankfulness takes over when you meet Him during walks/jogs/runs. lol….when I try and jog or run, I am usually just thankful for the next breath. 🙂 Thanks for this post!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

