Falling Asleep in the Arms of Christ – A Lullaby of Heavenly Peace

Father Watching His Infant Sleep

“You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in You. Trust in the LORD forever, for the LORD, the LORD Himself, is the Rock eternal.” – Isaiah 26:3-4

This has always been one of my favorite verses, and during my college years I claimed it as my life verse. The older I got, the more responsibilities began to weigh me down, and the more my mind began to be plagued with the fear of the unknown. The world can be a scary place at times, and there are a lot of things that can cause fear and uncertainty.

But isn’t it wonderful to know that if we keep our minds trained on Jesus, He has promised to give us perfect peace? Each time I’ve claimed this promise, He has calmed my anxious heart and helped me to view each situation through His eyes.

When I first heard Jesus, King of Angels, a lullaby written by Fernando Ortega (one of my all-time favorite Christian artists), I was working at a youth camp. The worship leader would sing this song over each of us before we departed to our cabins for bedtime, and I learned what a wonderful feeling it is to drift off to sleep with the peace and assurance of knowing that you’re sleeping in the arms of Christ.

Now I’m a husband and foster parent, and occasionally my wife and I will sing this lullaby over the children in our home. This sweet melody has helped a screaming one-and-a-half-year-old to calm down and drift to sleep, and now each time we tuck our seven-year-old into bed she pleads, “The lullaby! The lullaby! Pleeeeaaassee!!!”

May this musical treasure be a blessing to you and yours.

____________________________________________________

Jesus, King of Angels

Fernando Ortega

Jesus King of angels heaven’s light
Shine Your face upon this house tonight
Let no evil come into my dreams
Light of heaven keep me in Your peace
Remind me how You made dark spirits flee
And spoke Your power to the raging sea
And spoke Your mercy to a sinful man
Remind me Jesus, for this is what I am

CHORUS:
The universe is vast beyond the stars
But You are mindful when the sparrow falls
And mindful of the anxious thoughts
That find me, surround me and bind me

With all my heart I love You Sovereign Lord
Tomorrow let me love You even more
And rise to speak the goodness of Your name
Until I close my eyes and sleep again

CHORUS

Jesus King of angels heaven’s light
Hold my hand and keep me through this night

____________________________________________________

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 4:6-7

6 thoughts on “Falling Asleep in the Arms of Christ – A Lullaby of Heavenly Peace

  1. What a lovely lullaby! I often pray scriptures and sing hymns/worship songs over my children (or even just their bedrooms). I find it brings me peace in parenting, and seems quiets the anxiety in them as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

