The Road to Real Success: Film Review for “Grace Unplugged”

Grace Unplugged Poster

“I could buy this movie,” my wife commented after we watched Grace Unplugged, the October 2013 movie release which was written and directed by Brad J. Silverman.

If you know my wife, then you know this was extremely high praise. But when it comes to this particular film, I echo her feelings wholeheartedly. This is absolutely the type of film I want my children to grow up watching.

Grace Unplugged tells the story of Gracie Trey, a typical Christian teen who dreams of making it big in the music recording industry as her father did before her. But the further she travels down the road to unbelievable fame and success, the more her faith – and her morals –are called into question. The film not only provides a realistic look at what it really takes to become rich and famous, but it brings viewers to ask themselves, “What is real success?”

It’s a question everyone should stop and ask themselves from time to time, because our answer to that question will determine the way we choose to live our lives.

AJ Michalka (Grace), James Denton (Grace’s father), and Kevin Pollak (Grace’s manager) each give strong performances, and the film also features guest appearances by Christian recording artists Chris Tomlin and Jamie Grace. And though there are moments that make you very aware that you’re watching a Christian film – there are other moments in which you completely forget that the film was produced by a Christian company.

The result is a delightful movie which you’ll be begging your children to watch, and which focuses on the biblical message that even when we let go of God and choose to go our own way, our Father never lets go of us.

_________________________________________________________________

 

“You Never Let Go”

Matt Redman

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death
Your perfect love is casting out fear
And even when I’m caught in the middle of the storms of this life
I won’t turn back
I know You are near

And I will fear no evil
For my God is with me
And if my God is with me
Whom then shall I fear?
Whom then shall I fear?

[Chorus:]
Oh no, You never let go
Through the calm and through the storm
Oh no, You never let go
In every high and every low
Oh no, You never let go
Lord, You never let go of me

And I can see a light that is coming for the heart that holds on
A glorious light beyond all compare
And there will be an end to these troubles
But until that day comes
We’ll live to know You here on the earth

[Chorus:]
Oh no, You never let go
Through the calm and through the storm
Oh no, You never let go
In every high and every low
Oh no, You never let go
Lord, You never let go of me!

_________________________________________________________________

“I will never leave you, nor forsake you.”

Hebrews 13:5

4 thoughts on “The Road to Real Success: Film Review for “Grace Unplugged”

  1. My kids loved Grace Unplugged when they watched it last month with my husband. I can’t remember why I didn’t view it with the rest of my family … could have been I was blogging away on the A to Z Challenge! Maybe I need to request we watch again … 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

