The Value of Architecture in the Kingdom of God

Construction.jpg

As I realized that I would have to cover a chapter on Architecture as part of my “Introduction to Fine Arts Class,” I couldn’t help but laugh. This is going to be a short lecture, I chuckled to myself.

But the more I studied architecture, the more fascinating it became to me. I found myself viewing the world around me – and the many passages of Scripture which use architectural terms – in a whole new way.

Consider the following quote:

“The forms of architecture reflect and interpret some of the fundamental values of the society of the architect.” – Martin & Jacobus, “The Humanities Through the Arts,” 8th ed.

If you really think about it, architecture has the potential to reflect the values of a society more powerfully than any other art form:

  • Architectural structures are strong and long-lasting – when archaeologists discover the ruins of an ancient civilization, the ancient walls and buildings are usually the one part of that civilization that have withstood the test of time.
  • Architectural structures are massive in size – as they tower over the cities or countryside around them, they project their message for all to see within a several-mile radius.
  • Architectural structures are costly – if you really want to see what a society values, look at what it invests its money in. Think of the largest, most elaborate architectural projects in the city in which you live… what does your community value the most?

Peter the Apostle recognized the value and power of architecture when he compared the People of God to a spiritual building:

“You also, as living stones, are being built up as a spiritual house, to be a holy priesthood, to offer spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.” – I Peter 2:5

God wants to show the world what He values most, and is building a grand architectural structure as a way to reveal this truth in a powerful and lasting way. But instead of using bricks and mortar, He has decided to use you and me – the Church – as “living stones.”

What does this mean for us? Well, I want my personal “brick” in the foundation God is laying to be a strong one… if Satan attacks the fortress of God’s People, I don’t want him to find a weakness in me that allows him to break through and devour!

Along with maintaining our personal walk, encouraging and edifying our brothers and sisters in Christ will also help to keep our Spiritual House united and strong.

“They fulfill Jesus’ call to worship, work, and witness in His name. And this they do, not as isolated individuals (lone-rangerism!), but as fellow siblings in God’s family, helping and encouraging each other in the openness and mutual care that are the hallmarks of brotherly love.” – J.I. Packer

“Let brotherly love continue.” – Hebrews 13:1

Examine your daily walk, and find a fellow believer to encourage in some way today – strengthen the “Spiritual House” of believers around you…

And allow the world to see for themselves the values of our Master Architect.

____________________________________________________________

Are you looking for other good Christian bloggers to follow and encourage?

Visit the Faithful Bloggers Directory!

Also, here are a few Christian blogs that I’ve recently discovered, and highly recommend:

  1. Tales from the Laundry Room: http://talesfromthelaundryroom.com
  2. Everyday Moments of Worship: http://everydaymomentsofworship.wordpress.com
  3. CHRISTian Poetry by Deborah Ann: http://poetrybydeborahann.wordpress.com
  4. Redbird’s Roost: http://birdchirp.wordpress.com
  5. True Beloved: http://truebelovedblog.com
5 thoughts on “The Value of Architecture in the Kingdom of God

  1. Another wonderfully thoughtful and encouraging blog post! I am challenged to continue to build a strong spiritual house for God, beginning with my family, my body of believers and my community. Encouraging our brothers and sisters in Christ is a wonderful way to build upon the firm foundation we have been given as children of God.

    And thanks so much for sharing my blog! What an honor! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

