Flash Fiction Friday: “Prodigal Comfort”

Today’s Flash Fiction Challenge at http://flashfriday.wordpress.com was to write a complete story in 150 words which is based on the painting below, and which incorporates the idea of “Coming of Age.”  Here is my submission:

Past and Present, No. 2 1858 by Augustus Leopold Egg 1816-1863

Past and Present No 2, by Augustust Leopold Egg, 1858. Public domain photo.

 

My sister’s heaving sobs drew me to her bedroom.

“Oh, Eleanor!” she cried when she saw me, flinging herself into my comforting arms. “They told me to never come back. They despise the things I’ve done!”

Ella, still wide-eyed at sixteen, had run away from our parents’ strict morality despite their warnings of the world’s many dangers. Just as I had done, so many years ago.

Poor girl. I had been ready for the thrills the world offered, but the shock had been too much for Ella.

Sweet, beautiful Ella, I thought as I watched the black clouds crawl away, revealing a full moon. They were right – the world offers sweet thrills, but they come at great cost.

But she would understand in time. My fangs glinted in the moon’s eerie glow, a symbol of where my prodigal wanderings had taken me.

Her soul was hungry for a thrill.

And so was mine.

 

8 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Friday: “Prodigal Comfort”

    1. Ha! Thanks… these flash contests are really interesting… you have to sort of just look at the picture and go with your first gut instinct….I thought the painting was a little creepy, myself!

      Like

Leave a Reply

