A Story of Childlike Faith: Book Review for “Heaven is for Real”

Heaven Is For Real Pic

“The LORD protects those of childlike faith; I was facing death, and He saved me.”

Psalm 116:6

I’m usually extremely skeptical when authors claim to have heavenly visions and say they know firsthand what Heaven will be like. Personally, I don’t think anything could possibly prepare us for the breathtaking surprise that awaits the Christian when his eyes get their first glimpse of Glory.

So when I heard about Todd Burpo’s bestselling book, Heaven is for Real, I wasn’t particularly interested. Here we go again, I thought to myself. Even when the book reached #1 on the New York Times Bestseller’s List, I wasn’t rushing off to buy a copy. But when a trusted coworker told me how much the story had touched his heart, I finally broke down and paid the bookstore a visit.

And I’m so glad I did. While the book does share the glimpse of Heaven a three-year-old boy named Colton is convinced he experienced while on the operating table, it also tells the story of how his father grew from a discouraged pastor who was beginning to doubt God to a man who learned to depend on the Father with a fresh, childlike faith.

I was hesitant to give the book a try, but once I started reading I couldn’t put it down. I finished the entire thing in one day – honest. The writing is so down-to-earth, so genuine, that you can’t escape the feeling that this author is a regular, everyday Christian very much like yourself. Here are a handful of ways the author learned to have the faith of a child:

  • Telling his wife to write the church tithe check after hearing they owed over $23,000 in medical bills, and trusting God to provide
  • Having his son explain the way Jesus had told him it was time to go back down from Heaven because He had decided to answer his Daddy’s prayer
  • Hitting on a clear explanation of the Gospel which put his seminary knowledge to shame: “that Jesus died on the cross so people on earth could come and see His Dad.”
  • Drawing boldness from his son’s insistence that when he preached the Word of God, the Holy Spirit “shot down power” to him from Heaven

According to Jesus, unless we learn to “become like little children” we will never enter the Kingdom of Heaven (Matthew 18:3). This shows the importance of developing a childlike faith. And in a world shaded with skepticism and doubt, this is sometimes hard for us to do.

Take a chance on this book, and you’ll catch a glimpse of Jesus through the eyes of a child. Colton’s story may inspire you, or it may bring you to long for Heaven in a whole new way.

But one thing is certain…you’ll close the last chapter with an increased desire for the one thing Jesus wanted most for us:

The faith of a child.

3 thoughts on “A Story of Childlike Faith: Book Review for “Heaven is for Real”

    1. I haven’t read “The Shack” yet… thanks for the recommendation. I haven’t seen the movie version of “Heaven is for Real,” either… I wonder how it compares to the book?

      Like

Leave a Reply

