S: She Sees a “Sooper” Daddy – A Sweet Moment for this Foster Dad

Sooper Daddy

S  As a parent, I always feel like I have every answer and live continually on top of every situation. Yeah, right! This statement is so ridiculous, I was almost afraid that lightning would strike me as I typed it!

The truth is, parenting is hard work and nothing can truly prepare you for it. My wife and I were thrilled to begin the adventure of foster parenting last year. Our two children, a seven-year old girl and a two-year old boy, have been in our home since last July, and we’ve absolutely fallen in love with them. But just like any other parent, there are days when I can’t help but ask myself, “What were we thinking?” Between the tantrums and the power struggles, the little white lies and the slaps in the face – and let’s not forget the time we decided to flush an entire waffle down the toilet because we didn’t want to eat our breakfast – I’ve had many moments that have given me pause. (That toilet still runs slow, by the way.)

But then comes one of those golden moments. Sitting in church and having my daughter grab my arm and drape it around her, or tucking her in bed and hearing her say, “I love you.” Or driving in the car on the way to church and having her draw the most beautiful picture I’ve ever seen – a picture of me in a Superman cape, with a caption that reads “Sooper-Dady.”

I may not always feel like I’m doing a super job at parenting, but she sees a Super Daddy in me. What an encouragement – and I can’t take one shred of credit. If I was trying to do this on my own, I would’ve been admitted to a loony bin months ago!

But you see…

  • When I need someone to talk to, my Father listens (Psalm 116:2).
  • When I need wisdom, my Father shares His with me (Proverbs 2:6).
  • When I’m exhausted at the end of the day, my Father renews my energy (Isaiah 40:29).
  • And when I’m worried or afraid, my Father protects me from all harm (Psalm 7:10-12).

So there it is… she’s able to see a “Sooper Daddy” in me, because I’ve found a Super Daddy of my own.

9 thoughts on “S: She Sees a “Sooper” Daddy – A Sweet Moment for this Foster Dad

  1. This is terrific! I’ve had parenting moments like this as well … it’s extremely humbling and uplifting at the same time. You must be doing some great parenting! I’ve been encouraged my your blog and will be a continued reader after the A to Z Challenge ends.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much! I’ve also found several blogs that I plan to keep up with, including your “Tales From the Laundry Room!” This challenge really has been a fun way to discover blogs that I never would have found otherwise!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I love your blog and your writing style. Since I’ve enjoyed reading your posts, I nominate you for the Liebster Award! You can find out more on my blog (www.writinginaraindrop.wordpress.com). See the post titled “Liebster Award! Thank you GODisms!”

    If you decide to accept the award, there are a few simple steps to follow. If not, I still think your blog is awesome!

    Shawny Lou

    Like

    1. Shawny Lou,

      Wow – what an honor! Thank you so much for nominating me for the Liebster Award… I absolutely accept, and will get to work on my acceptance post.

      Have a great day, and congratulations on YOUR Liebster nomination!

      Like

  3. love the picture. And had to laugh at the waffle down the toilet. My godson and his brother like to ‘fall’ down the toilet by landing in the toilet bowl like upturned turtles for some bizarre unknown reason…!

    Like

Leave a Reply

