H: Head in the Clouds (My Childhood NASA Dream)

Stars

H  Heading into young adulthood, I had one goal in life: to grow up and become an astronaut. There is just something so mysterious, so exotic, and so inviting about space travel. Doesn’t every child dream of leaving earth’s orbit at some point?

I didn’t just read books about NASA – I devoured them. My all-time favorite is Lost Moon, by Jim Lovell, which describes the Apollo 13 rescue. In the book Lovell describes why walking on the moon was such a lifelong dream for him. I hung on his every word as he described the rainbow colored stars, which shine like brilliant jewels when viewed from the backside of the moon and without the Sun’s interfering rays. I imagined the peace and tranquility of space vacuum, and could almost feel myself floating weightlessly across the room.

Why does outer space captivate us so? I believe it is because it is a tangible picture of the mystery, the beauty, and the infinite nature of God. The earth is spectacular and takes our breath away, but the vastness of space is nothing short of mind-boggling.

Eventually I grew up, and so did my career plans. But that’s not to say that the moon doesn’t continue to stop me in my tracks at night, inviting me to gaze into the endless sky and relive old dreams.

What about you? Do you have a childhood dream that you can’t quite let go of?

8 thoughts on “H: Head in the Clouds (My Childhood NASA Dream)

  1. My dream was to be an author. Didn’t quite work out, though I became a librarian so books are definitely my thing. From that experience, I can tell you that you are not alone. Space books were always popular in the children’s library!

    Like

    1. Absolutely! I think many bloggers are in those shoes…blogging is a great way to keep your writing skills sharp while you prepare to really launch your writing career… best of luck to you!

      Like

  2. One might say that becoming a musician is just as much a “head in the clouds” dream as becoming an astronaut. If God is gifting, the dreams will come true. May the Lord bless you in your ministry at DBU amd FBC. Enjoy the A to Z challenge. Maria from “http://delightdirectedliving.blogspot.com/”

    Like

    1. That’s a great dream! Have you ever been able to go swim with a dolphin? If not, you should! For my birthday one year my wife took me to the Johnson Space Center in Houston – I absolutely loved it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

