E: Enduring for Erin’s Law – My Crazy 4-Hour Bike Race

Bike Race

E  Exercise is something I tend to enjoy as an occasional pastime, but I don’t consider myself to be an athlete by any means. As a toddler, I was the soccer player who crossed his arms and refused to run and the t-ball player who was so terrible that they made me “catcher” (though we all know that a catcher in t-ball is pretty darn pointless).

Nevertheless, as you read this blog I’ll be on my bike, straining muscles which have probably never been used before in an effort to ride across the Texas countryside and not let my dad smoke me…at least not too badly, anyway.

Why put myself through this insanity? My dad is the one organizing the community event, and he’s doing it to raise awareness for Erin’s Law. Named for Erin Merryn, “Erin’s Law” promotes legislation that requires schoolchildren to receive age-appropriate instruction on safe touch and speaking up about child abuse. As a former schoolteacher, this is a cause that I most definitely want to stand behind.

I want to support my dad. I want to support kids. So I’m blowing the dust off my rusty old bike.

Should I have been training hard for the past several months? Probably.

Have I been training? Absolutely not.

I’m going to jump into this race “cold turkey,” trying to reach the finish line through sheer willpower. And if they carry me out on a stretcher, well, at least it was for a worthy cause.  Right?

12 thoughts on “E: Enduring for Erin’s Law – My Crazy 4-Hour Bike Race

  1. Sounds like an excellent reason to participate. This kind of education is so needed for children and caretakers. I’m participating in a 5k later this month…I will be walking, ha.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Alex! If you’re running 5 miles a day, something tells me you’d do just fine. So far I’m loving the A to Z Challenge…thanks to you and your team for all the work you put into setting this up for us!

      Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Shonae! It’s amazing what we’ll do for friends and family, isn’t it? I had an amazing race, though, and you know what? I might just take up biking when it’s all said and done!

      Like

Leave a Reply

